Teen Author Boot Camp 2016

CONQUERING KINGDOMS

Hey guys! Today’s post is so so so so SO exciting because today I am going to be talking about my life force, my favorite day in the entire year, the most epic event to ever epic. Yep, you guessed it. Today I am going to be talking about…Teen Author Boot Camp!
So, if you don’t know, Teen Author Boot Camp – or TABC – is an amazing event in Utah each year for teen writers. Published authors come in and teach amazing classes, the awesome founders do a TON of giveaways, and at the end, there is a super long signing where you can meet and talk to all of the authors and get them to sign books and shirts and…whatever else you want signed.

I could talk for hours about my experience with TABC the last two years – and by hours, I mean literal days – because I love it so much. I don’t live in Utah, so I had to go on a road trip – woot woot! – for two days there and two days back just for this one day – 12 hours-ish – event. And let me tell you…it is so worth it. Like, really, REALLY worth it.
If you follow me on twitter – which by the way, you totally should *wink wink* – you probably will have seen that I ended up finishing the first draft of my novel the week before TABC and therefore I get to use all of this new information that I got at TABC for my revisions and such. I am above everything else – above a blogger, above a reader, above being a functional human being (kind-of) – a writer.

So today I am just going to be talking about some highlights of my day, some of the amazing authors that I met, and maybe even a little “review” of the event. (Five stars, by the way.)

Without further ado, let’s get this TABC party started. (the best kind of party, obviously.)

Alright, so I won’t bore you – or more like keep you here for hours – with all of the details. But basically, I had a great time. My kind-of-review for TABC is that it is wonderful. The authors were all amazing, and the names get more and more famous every year. The building was super cool and big, also I could see into it from my hotel room window. So I may or may not have stayed up late the night before TABC trying to see people putting up signs and such. But probably may.

I came away from the convention center that day with 20+ pages of notes that I know are going to help me with my writing in so many ways, so many times.

Basically if this sounds interesting to at all and you want your mind to be blown from so awesomeness, check out TABC. You will not regret it. Unless you hate books and writing and words. In which case, what are you doing on this blog?

Now onto some of the highlights for me. Something that stands out the most to me – which I can’t believe I am admitting on the internet – is that I couldn’t breathe when I met Kathryn Purdie. I am currently reading her newly released, super amazing debut YA fantasy novel, Burning Glass, and I am ADORING it. I have seen her epic reads: epic author facts video and when this angel of a human with flawless hair and is just as beautiful in her author picture as in real life walks into the room…well, my lungs decided to not work anymore. Because it was like seeing this person who had only ever existed on a screen or in a photo. Standing right there in front of you. It was amazing.

Later, when I was in her class about writing compelling secrets in your books, I went up to talk to her and Sara B Larson afterwards and I handed each of them a Becoming Bookish business card and…get ready for this…THEY RECOGNIZED IT. So we talked and I asked for a picture and I dropped the phone – Why me? I don’t know. I just have luck that way – but it was okay and we took a picture and she was so amazing and nice. Everything she said and did was so gentle and kind and I am SO happy that I got to meet her!

I highly recommend her book – it is quickly becoming one of my all-time favorites – and it just came out on the first of the month, so you can own it now – and get on the bandwagon early – ! (Also, later at the signing – when she remembered me (IN WHICH CASE I ALMOST DIED OF EXCITEMENT) – she hooked me up with some signed giveaway swag (And I may have won a second copy of the book and got it signed) so stay tuned for that. Wink Wink)

Speaking of winning a free book, I won several at TABC (legit the one place on earth where I have good luck like that, haha!) If you follow me on Instagram – again, totally should – you might have seen my entry for the TABC photo contest. I ended up being one of the winners for that and I got some books! INCLUDING ARCS FROM BEA (I may have almost cried happy tears, because I got an arc of Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon as well as This Raging Light!)

Then later, skipping forward again to the signing. I met Kiersten White. Yes, THE Kiersten White. With the awesome hair and amazing books. I got to talk with her and her dad for a while and get a picture with her and have her sign my books! I actually got an ARC of And I Darken (a few days pre-TABC), which is her new book based on the legend of Vlad the Impaler turned into Lada the Impaler, coming out June 28, 2016. So go check that out!
Kiersten White was so amazing! She was so much fun and super nice. I was – and definitely still am – absolutely ecstatic that I got to meet this AMAZING author. If you ever get the chance to go to a Kiersten White signing, take the opportunity and run with it, because she is awesome. (And her hair is, like, the cooliest.)

And I got to meet Sara B Larson again! I met her last year and got the first two books in her epic fantasy trilogy (Defy, Ignite, and Endure) signed, but shortly after I got home, I dropped Ignite tragically and the dust jacket (which is my favorite cover in all of existence) got torn. So thankfully, I was able to get another copy this year and have her sign it! (And she wrote – and I quote – “To Jamie, my cute book blogging friend. Ignite hope – Sara B Larson” (insert cool signature here with your mind) yeah, when I read that I pretty much melted into the floor like Spongebob.

I also got to meet Jennifer Nielson and a ton of other awesome authors like Catherine Linka, RC Lewis, and, of course, the founders of TABC! There was a filmographer and a photographer even the Dungeon Crawlers podcast people. It was a super amazing experience and both years that I have gone I have come away completely overwhelmed with the sheer epicness of the day.

So yeah, I had travel a while (with my mom and grandma, so I wasn’t alone.) but it is worth every penny, and every hour. Seriously go check it out!

I know that this post was really just me rambling and fangirling about meeting authors, but hey, I MET AUTHORS. I had an amazing time and I just wanted to share that excitement with you all! Thank you SO much to everyone who has worked so hard to make TABC as awesome as it is. I laughed, learned, and had the actual chance to make a fool out of myself by fangirling in front of the people I admire most. It was pretty much the best thing ever.

Be sure to follow Teen Author Boot Camp on all of the social medias:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

As well as check out their website!

Also remember to check out the awesome authors that made the day so…well…awesome!

Here is my photo for the Instagram contest:

insta contest TABC 2016

(Yep, that’s me! purple hair tips and all. It’s nice to meet you! 🙂 )

So yeah! That’s is how I spent my week/weekend. If you attended TABC let me know in the comments! If it interests you and you are going to look into it for next year, let me know in the comments! If I gave you a card at TABC with my blog name on it and that’s why you are reading this post, let me know in the comments!

I am beginning to sense a pattern here…hehe.

I will see you guys soon with a new post, and be sure to follow my blog by email (above and to the right) to get notified when new posts go up! Check out my social media and let me know down below which authors you have met – if you have met any – and…that’s about it for today’s post!

And thank you to Teen Author Boot Camp, again, for the AMAZING day, the wonderful, ecstatic, stick with me forever memories, and for the absolutely invaluable writing information, tips, and motivation. And also the free books. 😉 You guys are actually my favorite people in the entire world.

See YA!

~Jamie

4 thoughts on “Teen Author Boot Camp 2016

  1. whimsicalpalateblog says:

    I checked out their site and it looks like a fantastic experience! This is a super review! It sounds like you had an absolutely AMAZING day! If someone likes writing, books and words…and they are the right age…they should totally go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

